PCR and qPCR

invitrogen-superScript-0012

PCR (polymerase chain reaction) and qPCR (quantitative PCR) are methods for copying DNA molecules to allow for testing even small amounts of DNA.

PCR starts with nucleic acid denaturation, the separation of double strands of sample DNA. The two separate strands become templates to which free nucleotides can attach to build new DNA strands. Each new DNA strand is then denatured to become two templates, a process that exponentially amplifies the original DNA.

Alternatively, DNA can be synthesized from RNA (via reverse transcription), which produces complementary DNA (cDNA). First-strand synthesis from cDNA can occur using DNA Polymerase I and DNA Ligase for direct cloning without amplification.

The two main PCR reagents are:

  • Primers or oligonucleotides: short single-stranded DNA fragments complementary to a targeted region of the DNA
  • DNA polymerase: an enzyme that facilitates reactions between primers and sample DNA

Thermal cyclers heat and cool reactions (usually performed in small PCR tubes or PCR microplates). Cycle length and temperature depend on the enzyme, dNTP ion concentration, and primer denaturation (melting) temperature.

Quantitative PCR (qPCR or real-time PCR) measures the initial amounts of DNA, cDNA, or RNA and can detect whether and in what amount a specific DNA sequence is present. These methods use fluorescent dyes or fluorophore-containing DNA probes to determine the amount of amplified product.

PCR is used to:

  • Clone DNA for sequencing and manipulating genes
  • Conduct gene mutagenesis
  • Construct DNA-based phylogenies (gene functional analysis)
  • Diagnose/monitor hereditary diseases
  • Amplify ancient DNA
  • Perform forensic and parentage testing
  • Detect infectious disease pathogens
  More
Featured Products

Top Categories


Related Categories

Resources

More


Special Offers

PCR et qPCR

invitrogen-superScript-0012

La PCR (« polymerase chain reaction » ou réaction en chaîne de la polymérase) et la qPCR (PCR quantitative) sont des méthodes de copie des molécules d’ADN afin de permettre des analyses avec même de petites quantités d’ADN.

La PCR débute avec la dénaturation des acides nucléiques, la séparation des doubles brins de l’ADN de l’échantillon. Les deux brins séparés deviennent les matrices auxquelles les nucléotides libres se fixent afin de construire les nouveaux brins d’ADN. Chaque nouveau brin d’ADN est alors dénaturé pour devenir deux matrices, un processus qui amplifie exponentiellement l’ADN original.

De façon alternative, l’ADN peut être synthétisé à partir d’ARN (par transcription inverse), ce qui produit de l’ADN complémentaire (ADNc). La synthèse premier brin à partir de l’ADNc se fait au moyen de l’ADN polymérase I et l’ADN ligase pour un clonage direct sans amplification.

Les deux principaux réactifs de la PCR sont :

  • Les amorces ou oligonucléotides : de petits fragments d’ADN à simple brin qui sont complémentaires à la région ciblée de l’ADN
  • ADN polymérase : une enzyme qui facilite les réactions entre les amorces et l’échantillon d’ADN

Les thermocycleurs chauffent et refroidissent les réactions (habituellement effectué dans de petits tubes PCR ou des microplaques PCR). La durée d’un cycle et la température dépend de l’enzyme, de la concentration en ions dNTP, et de la température de dénaturation (fusion) des amorces.

La PCR quantitative (qPCR ou PCR en temps réel) mesure les quantités initiales d’ADN, d’ADNc, ou d’ARN et peut détecter si une séquence particulière d’ADN est présente et en quelle quantité. Ces méthodes utilisent les colorants fluorescents ou les sondes d’ADN contenant des fluorophores afin de déterminer la quantité du produit amplifié.

La PCR est utilisée pour :

  • Cloner l’ADN pour le séquençage et la manipulation des gènes
  • Effectuer la mutagenèse des gènes
  • Construire les phylogénies à base d’ADN (analyse fonctionnelle des gènes)
  • Diagnostiquer/surveiller les maladies héréditaires
  • Amplifier l’ADN ancien
  • Effectuer des analyses médico-légales et établir la parenté
  • Détecter les agents pathogènes reliés aux maladies infectieuses
  Plus
Produits vedettes

Catégories les plus populaires


Catégories reliées

Ressources

More


Offres spéciales